Auditions Information

Upcoming Auditions

 
 Show Audition Dates
Fall 2019Arsenic and Old LaceMay 16, 2019 4:00-6:00 & 6:00-8:00
Callbacks May 23, 2019 4:00-8:00
Spring 2020Tom SawyerTBA

General information on auditioning for our main stage shows

If you or your teen is interested in acting in one or more of our main-stage productions there are a few things you need to know:

All actors must be 13-18 years, currently enrolled in, or have completed “LEVEL I Acting” (School Day Classes), “Enrich the Character” (Tuesday Night series of classes) or have participated in one of our “Summer Bootcamps”. You will need to email for a timeslot to audition which we will announce when these dates come available,  Watch for our posts on Facebook (be sure to LIKE US so you stay current) and our Newsletter (make sure you are on our mail list. Add Link to mail list sign up here) Other ways to prepare? Our season of plays are based on literature, so go ahead and read them now so you are prepared. We also offer several 1-day AUDITION workshops throughout the year to help you prepare.  Take classes…remember acting isn’t based solely on talent, but as in any art there are important skills to learn and practice so that you can always do your best.


AUDITIONS FOR 

ARSENIC AND OLD LACE

by Joseph Kesserling

Blurb from Wikipedia: The play is a farcical black comedy revolving around the Brewster family, descended from the Mayflower settlers, but now composed of insane homicidal maniacs. The hero, Mortimer Brewster, is a drama critic who must deal with his crazy, homicidal family and local police in Brooklyn, New York, as he debates whether to go through with his recent promise to marry the woman he loves, Elaine Harper, who lives next door and is the daughter of the local minister.

His family includes two spinster aunts who have taken to murdering lonely old men by poisoning them with a glass of home-made elderberry wine laced with arsenic, strychnine, and “just a pinch” of cyanide; a brother who believes he is Theodore Roosevelt and digs locks for the Panama Canal in the cellar of the Brewster home (which then serve as graves for the aunts’ victims; he thinks that they died of yellow fever); and a murderous brother who has received plastic surgery performed by an alcoholic accomplice, Dr. Einstein (a character based on real-life gangland surgeon Joseph Moran) to conceal his identity, and now looks like horror-film actor Boris Karloff . This uproarious murder farce will have the audience rolling.

AUDITION DATE (1-day only)

May 16 4:00-6:00 OR 6:00-8:00

Callbacks (if invited) May 23 4:00-8:00

Cast Size: 14

Who can audition for CB Productions ARSENIC AND OLD LACE

  • Must be 13 years-old
  • Students who have completed or are currently enrolled in Level I Acting with CB Productions
  • Students who have completed the CB Production’s Evening “Fast Track”
  • Students who have participated in CB Production’s Summer Boot Camp AND participated in our Audition Workshops.

If you do NOT fill at least one of these requirements you MUST seek special permission from Artistic Director, Carla Barwineck

How to set up an audition time for ARSENIC AND OLD LACE

  • Send email to cbarwineck@gmail.com requesting an audition.
  • Once I receive your request to audition I will choose the time slot and alert you as to when you will be scheduled (either 4:00-6:00 OR 6:00-8:00 — expect to stay for the full 2 hours ) PLUS I will send you the monologues you will need to prepare for your audition once I receive your request.
  • Be sure to keep the “callback” date free from conflicts (Thursday, May 25 4:00-8:00) in case you are asked to attend.

How should I prepare for this audition?

  1. Read the play (get it from the library or try to find it online)
  2. Read the below character descriptions and do your own research about the characters on this list.
  3. Print off scenes (from email) and read through for familiarity, then read many times to become familiar with lines, character, meaning. You do NOT need to memorize, but you must become familiar with the dialogue so that you can look at the person speaking and react
  4. Work on accents needed for characters listed – if no accent is listed no accent is needed

Teddy Roosevelt recording:   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhlzdjPGxrs Brooklyn accent:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9yLRJA6zU8

NEW!! Here is FULL SCRIPT ONLINE, but it is embedded in a random audition notice.
Follow the link and scroll down to page 50. Have fun reading!
Read script here: https://theoldpros.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/arsenic_audition_info.pdf

Auditions and callbacks will be held at Faith United Methodist Church, 2708 33rd Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418 on the lower level.  

Bring a list of conflicts you may have for our *rehearsal schedule:

REHEARSAL SCHEDULE

(also held at Faith United Methodist Church, 2708 33rd Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418)

*Thursday August 22 (6-8 required parent meeting/picnic at my house)

*Friday August 23 (5-8 read through at my house)

Monday August 26 (3:00-6:50) rehearsal space from here on out

Thursday August 29 (4:00-8:00)  

Monday, September 2 (3:00-6:50))  

Thursday, September 5, (4:00-8:00)

Monday, September 9, (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, September 12 (4:00-8:00)

Friday, September 13 (4:00-8:30)

Monday, September 16 (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, September 19 (4:00-8:00)

Monday, September 23 (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, September 26 (4:00-8:00)

Monday, September 30 (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, October 3 (4:00-8:00)

Friday,October 4 (4:00-8:30)

Monday, October 7 (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, October 10 (4:00-8:00)

Friday, October 11 (4:00-8:30)

Monday, October 14 (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, October 17 (4:00-8:00)

Monday, October 21 (3:00-6:50))

Thursday, October 24 (4:00-8:00)

Friday, October 25 (4:00-8:30)

LOAD-IN/TECH

AT NEIGHBORHOOD HOUSE

Saturday, October 26 (load-in 10:00-5:00)

Sunday, October 27 (10:00-5:00 no students required)

Monday, October 28 (10:00-4:00 tech only, 4-10 actors and crew)

Tuesday, October 29(10:00-4:00 tech only, 4-10 actors and crew)

Wednesday, October 30 (3-10 actors and tech)

Thursday, October 31(tentative preview 7:00)

PERFORMANCES

(call is 2 hours before each show) *tentative dates/times

Friday, November 1 (7:00)

Saturday, November 2 (1 & 7:00)

*Thursday, November 7 (10:30 tentative*)

Friday, November 8 (7:00)

Saturday, November 9 (7:00)

Sunday, November 10 (2:00)

Cost if cast is $250